history of the domain

A family estate for three generations, created in 1921 by Kléber Marionnet, is located in Soings in the Loir et Cher, in the easternmost part of Touraine, 30 km south of Blois.

The vineyard was replanted and enlarged between 1967 and 1978 by Henry Marionnet. It now covers 58 hectares, mainly composed of Gamay (2/3) and Sauvignon (1/3). These two grape varieties are the most adapted to this continental part of Touraine, supported by a terroir of flinty clay with more or less sand or gravel.

A unique domain

vignes 1

In 1990, Henry Marionnet became the first winemaker in France to make wines without sulfites, using Gamay grapes to produce the "Première Vendange" vintage.

We are also the only ones in France to produce a cuvée from a now extinct grape variety, the Gamay de Bouze, which is a Gamay with red juice and comes from Bouze-les-Beaune, a small village in Burgundy.

We are also fortunate to have the oldest vineyard in France, pre-phylloxera, as it was planted between 1820 and 1840, of a rare white grape variety, the Romorantin.

Finally, since 2015, we have been supervising the production of the Chateau de Chambord vineyard, where 14 hectares of vines, Pinot noir, Romorantin, Sauvignon and Orbois have been planted. The first vintage was 2018.

histoire du domaine

Domaine familial depuis trois générations, créé en 1921 par Kléber Marionnet, est situé à Soings dans le Loir et Cher, dans la partie la plus orientale de la Touraine à 30 km au sud de Blois.

Le vignoble fut replanté et agrandi entre 1967 et 1978 par Henry Marionnet. Il compte aujourd’hui 58 hectares, composé essentiellement de Gamay (2/3) et de Sauvignon (1/3). Ces deux cépages sont les plus adaptés à cette partie continentale de la Touraine, portés par un terroir d’argile à silex avec plus ou moins de sable ou graviers.

Un domaine unique

vignes 1

Le Domaine se distingue par de nombreuses particularités comme de réaliser des vins à partir de vignes uniques non greffées «franc de pieds», sur 5,5 hectares soit 10% du vignoble.En 1990, Henry Marionnet fin le premier vigneron en France à réaliser des vins sans sulfites, à partir de gamay qui donnera la cuvée «Première Vendange ».

Nous sommes également les seuls en France à produire une cuvée à partir d’un cépage aujourd’hui disparu, le Gamay de Bouze qui est un Gamay à jus rouge et proviendrait de Bouze-les-Beaune, petit village en Bourgogne.

Nous avons aussi la chance de posséder la plus vieille vigne de France, pré-phylloxérique, car plantée entre 1820 et 1840, d’un cépage blanc et rare, le Romorantin.

Enfin depuis 2015, nous supervisons la production du vignoble du Château de Chambord, où a été planté 14 hectares de vignes, de Pinot noir, Romorantin, Sauvignon et Orbois. Le premier millésime fut 2018.